Nic Arp Band

left to right:

Jennifer Horn-Frasier: Bass, vocals | Sean Seaton: Keys | Matthew Bernemann: Drums | Dave Rosazza: Guitar, vocals | Nic Arp: Songs, guitar, vocals

Jennifer Horn-Frasier

bass, vocals

Jennifer loves the feeling of a bass guitar reverberating in a person’s chest, and she is grateful to have been able to play the low end of things and sing in a few bands around Iowa City over the past couple of decades. She most often plays with the Nic Arp Band and the Fritters, and also can be spotted singing and playing flute, keyboard, cowbell, and more with other area bands. Jennifer studied flute at the University of Iowa and is a founding member of several musical groups, including the Flutepuets, the Bad Intentions, and Chameleon Society. It is possible that she previously performed music under the pseudonyms Mrs. Winkytoes and Legs McGillicuddy.

When not playing music, Jennifer runs a strategy consulting business, writes, cooks, and adventures by bike.  

Nic Arp

songs, vocals, guitar

Nic Arp is a songwriter, musician, producer, and engineer based in Iowa City, Iowa. 

He performs solo, as well as with an outstanding group of musicians under the moniker The Nic Arp Band

He and two of his Nic Arp Band bandmates also perform as The Fritters, a mostly acoustic folk-pop-roots thing.

Contact Nic Arp

Dave Rosazza

guitar, vocals (Iowa rock and roll Hall of Fame inductee, 2021)

Dave has been performing around the region for more than 30 years. He's also a highly sought-after teacher in the Iowa City area, where he operates Rosazza Lesson Studios. Teaching continues to be the focus of his musical career. 

In 1989, Rosazza formed Shade of Blue, which went on to be voted the best area band four times, and was inducted into the Iowa Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 2021. Shade of Blue still performs.

Rosazza has recorded 12 studio albums on piano and guitar with a variety of bands. He was an original member of the Funkdaddies (Press-Citizen's best band of 2006) as well as a member of Voices of Soul. He's been called “Iowa City's perennial guitar player.” (Jim Musser, Iowa City Press-Citizen) 

Rosazza has shared the stage with the Beach Boys, the Monkees, George Clinton and the P Funk Allstars, The Kinsey Report, Koko Taylor, Maceo Parker & the J B Horns, and many more. 

Matthew Bernemann

drums (Iowa rock and roll Hall of Fame inductee, 2021)

Matt attended the University of Iowa and majored in percussion performance with a jazz emphasis. His past teachers include Mark Dorr, James Dreier, Tom Davis, John Rapson, and Matt Wilson. Matt currently performs with the Saul Lubaroff Trio, Nic Arp, Shade of Blue, the Tanya English Band, the Ben Schmidt Band, and the Bernemann Brothers, just to name a few. 

In his spare time, Matt enjoys watching films, cooking, reading, and studying history. When not playing or teaching, he spends his time with wife Jody and sons Gabriel and Noah. 

Sean Seaton

keys (Iowa rock and roll Hall of Fame inductee, 2021)

Sean Seaton grew up in a musical family and dabbled with playing many instruments as a child. After cutting his teeth on the music of Ray Charles, Billy Preston, Leon Russell, Stevie Wonder, Elton John, Donald Fagan, and Billy Joel, it is no wonder Sean gravitated towards the piano. He also plays trombone and studied with master trombonist George Krem as a music performance major at the University of Iowa.

Sean has been playing in Eastern Iowa bands for over 30 years, sharing the stage with Soul Asylum, Koko Taylor, George Clinton, and the Monkees. He currently plays with the R&B band Shade of Blue, singer/songwriter Nic Arp, the Ben Schmidt Band, the Bernemann Brothers, original rockers Crystal City, the blues-based Tanya English Band, amongothers. He also was a founding member of the Quad Cities-based soul and funk band 10 of Soul, with whom he occasionally still performs today. Previously, Sean played with Blueprint, Dr. Feelgood, and The Electric Koolaid Trio. In 2020, Sean was inducted into the Iowa Rock & Roll Hall of Fame as a member of Shade of Blue.